September 26, 2012

  • Fall DownEast

    It's a really gloomy day here in downeast Maine - sort of typical of the rapidly changing weather this season brings. The summer tourists and people in our lake colony have mostly closed their camps and gone home;  the leaf peepers aren't here yet - though the big cruise ships are still evident at Bar Harbor - where they made a deal to sell them some of our cheap lobster.

    That's right, there is a surfeit of lobsters on the market - I paid $3.50/lb. last week. Some of the lobstermen have pulled their traps and shut down for the winter - "not worth hauling...what with the price of bait and fuel.."  Maine is not a rich state and any stumbling of the local economy is quickly felt. Because the economy is both local and seasonal, changes are both obvious and dramatic.

    Our lake has been drawn down for the winter. The lake is an important source of water for both power and a national salmon hatchery and is pretty carefully monitored and supervised. Its level is kept high during the summer but draw-down begins after labor day and by now is almost complete - the level is about three feet lower, fishing is still pretty good however

    Our wildlife is much in evidence - the usual squirrels, chippies, small birds, and rabbits have been joined by deer, a cow moose and calf, coyotes, foxes, a bear, and lots of turkeys. Typical of this time of year. In four months the lake may have two feet of ice and the animals will be even more prevalent - except the bear.

    We won't be here. We leave for Florida the day after Columbus Day and will follow the changing leaves down the mountains  - a beautiful drive - if the weather cooperates.  I'll let you know.

    Meanwhile - back to politics.

    Whatever are the Republicans thinking? I am really surprised at how inept their campaign has been . It's as if they thought people would be so dissatisfied with Obama that all they had to do was put someone up and he would be a shoo-in. They don't seem to realize that most Americans apparently blame congress, not the president, for the lack of government action regarding the economy - with good reason.  Unless Obama gets a more sympathetic congress, we may have more frustration and the same inaction.

Comments (66)

  • Dear Dick,
    I was thoroughly enjoying reading this slice of life, or I guess we could say slice of country look at the season's turning in Maine, another of those places I'd love to visit but will have to wait till retirement, it seems before I will ever get the chance.

    Then it hit me. I hardly ever read these types of posts from you. You're usually analyzing the political state of affairs. And the election is only a little over a month away. (H.Clinton vs. S.Palin in 2016?)

    "Meanwhile, back to politics."

    I knew it couldn't last. :)

    By the looks of the polls and the "decisions" of the many unqualified pundits, I'll wager we'll see a more "democratic" congress this coming November. As for the question, "What Were the Republicans Thinking" that could very well be a timeless question don't you think?

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • Mike, you are probably right, I don't do as much personal stuff on this site as I could - probably as we live a fairly quiet life. This is our 27th year of retirement and our world traveling days are behind us (traveling with a wheelchair is a real pain) also in addition to being wheelchair bound, my wife is almost blind and doesn't enjoy driving as much as she used to .

    When we first retired we managed to drive through all 48 contiguous states - we would drive from FL to ME by way of CA. and I was able to show my wife all those places I had been as a sailor ( England, Norway, Sweden Finland,Russia, Holland, France, Switzerland, Italy, Greece, Turkey, the Caribbean, Japan, China, Taiwan, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, and other places I've probably forgotten. Now our annual trek to and from Maine is about it. As a couple of retired schoolteachers, we were lucky that we were able to do all that - hopefully you will be able to also.

  • @ahmd1433@healthkicker - I'm not interested in religious proselyting at this site. I may sometime discuss comparative religion (I used to teach it) and I would welcome your input if such a subject comes up, but your above post makes no sense as a comment to the current subject. If you reply with another meaningless religious post, I will block you.

  • Treadmills and other devices of this kind are not appropriate for aerobic exercises,
    as they are targeted to the mid-section. Now, what exactly
    is a total body resistance training workout. Your calorie intake is very important along with swimming will allow
    you to look your best.

  • It's remarkable in support of me to have a website, which is
    valuable in support of my experience. thanks admin

  • Wow, incredible weblog layout! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for?
    you make blogging look easy. The full look of your site is wonderful, as neatly as
    the content material!

  • Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site
    so i came to “return the favor”.I'm trying to find things to enhance
    my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  • I don't even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was good. I don't know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger
    if you are not already ;) Cheers!

  • As the admin of this site is working, no question very rapidly it will be famous, due to its quality
    contents.

  • Hello! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I had to ask.

    Does managing a well-established website like yours require a lot of work?
    I am completely new to running a blog but I do write in my
    journal everyday. I'd like to start a blog so I can share my experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations
    or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.

    Appreciate it!

  • If you want to get a good deal from this paragraph then you
    have to apply such strategies to your won website.

  • With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of
    plagorism or copyright violation? My website has a lot of
    exclusive content I've either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot
    of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any techniques to help reduce content from being
    stolen? I'd truly appreciate it.

  • With havin so much written content do you ever run into any
    problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has a lot of completely unique content I've either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping
    it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any ways to help prevent content from being stolen? I'd genuinely appreciate it.

  • It is the best time to make a few plans for the future and it's time to be happy.
    I have read this submit and if I may I wish to recommend you
    few attention-grabbing issues or suggestions. Maybe you could write subsequent articles
    relating to this article. I want to learn even more things approximately it!

  • I do agree with all of the ideas you have introduced in your
    post. They're very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are too quick for newbies.
    May you please prolong them a bit from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

  • I got this website from my pal who shared with me regarding this website and at the moment this time I
    am visiting this site and reading very informative articles or reviews here.

  • Great post! We will be linking to this great content on our
    site. Keep up the good writing.

  • We're a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our
    community. Your website provided us with valuable info to work
    on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  • Hi just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know
    a few of the images aren't loading properly. I'm not sure why but I think its a
    linking issue. I've tried it in two different web browsers
    and both show the same results.

  • What's up, I check your blogs daily. Your story-telling style is awesome, keep up the good work!

  • Every weekend i used to go to see this website, as i wish
    for enjoyment, for the reason that this this
    website conations truly pleasant funny data too.

  • Hello colleagues, its enormous post on the topic of cultureand fully defined, keep it
    up all the time.

  • You are so interesting! I don't suppose I've truly read through anything like
    this before. So great to discover another person with some unique thoughts on this issue.
    Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This
    website is one thing that's needed on the internet, someone with
    a bit of originality!

  • Link exchange is nothing else except it is only placing the other person's website link on your
    page at proper place and other person will also do same in support
    of you.

  • This post will assist the internet viewers for creating new webpage or even a weblog from start to end.

  • whoah this blog is fantastic i really like reading your articles.

    Stay up the great work! You realize, many persons are searching around for this info, you could help them greatly.

  • Hey very nice blog!

  • Hi there, I do think your web site could be having web browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in Internet Explorer, it's got some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Apart from
    that, fantastic site!

  • I have read so many posts regarding the blogger lovers but this article is truly a pleasant article, keep it up.

  • After looking into a handful of the blog posts on your blog, I seriously appreciate your technique of writing
    a blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in the
    near future. Take a look at my web site as well and tell me what you think.

  • I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout
    of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to
    say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only
    having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  • This is my first time go to see at here and i am actually impressed
    to read all at single place.

  • Hello I am so grateful I found your blog page,
    I really found you by error, while I was researching on Aol
    for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a
    marvelous post and a all round interesting
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don't have time to go through it all at the minute
    but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep
    up the fantastic job.

  • Hello There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. That is an extremely neatly written article.
    I'll be sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your useful
    information. Thank you for the post. I'll certainly return.

  • It's a pity you don't have a donate button! I'd without a doubt donate to this brilliant
    blog! I guess for now i'll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this site with my
    Facebook group. Talk soon!

  • I blog quite often and I truly appreciate your information. This great
    article has really peaked my interest. I am going to take a
    note of your blog and keep checking for new information about once per
    week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

  • I have read so many articles or reviews regarding
    the blogger lovers except this piece of writing is actually a nice piece of writing, keep it up.

  • I feel that is one of the such a lot important info for me.
    And i'm happy reading your article. However want to observation on some normal things, The website style is great,
    the articles is actually nice : D. Excellent activity, cheers

  • Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?
    My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the information you
    provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Thank you!

  • I've learn several excellent stuff here. Definitely worth
    bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot attempt you put to make the sort of fantastic informative web site.

  • What i don't realize is if truth be told how you're no
    longer really a lot more neatly-appreciated than you may be right now.

    You're very intelligent. You recognize thus significantly with regards to this matter, produced me
    individually imagine it from numerous various angles.
    Its like men and women don't seem to be involved except it's something to do with
    Lady gaga! Your own stuffs great. Always handle it up!

  • I just like the helpful info you provide to your articles.
    I'll bookmark your blog and take a look at again right here regularly.
    I am somewhat sure I'll be told many new stuff right
    right here! Good luck for the next!

  • Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts
    and I am waiting for your next write ups thanks
    once again.

  • Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I've read stuff from.
    Thanks for posting when you've got the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this blog.

  • It's really a great and helpful piece of info.
    I'm glad that you simply shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  • Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This
    is a really well written article. I will be
    sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  • I am extremely inspired along with your writing talents and also with the structure in your blog.
    Is this a paid topic or did you customize it your self? Either
    way keep up the nice quality writing, it's rare to peer
    a nice blog like this one nowadays..

  • I got this website from my pal who shared with me on the
    topic of this website and now this time I am visiting this web page and
    reading very informative content here.

  • Very nice article, just what I wanted to find.

  • You are in desperate necessity of cash to transport on with the rest with the month and you think of loans Vannesa Farstvedt
    anyone who has ever experienced the misfortune of getting a bad credit score knows how hard it is to obtain a second chance
    from lenders especially with out a co-signer.

  • My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he's tryiong none
    the less. I've been using Movable-type on a number of websites for about
    a year and am anxious about switching to another platform.
    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way
    I can import all my wordpress content into it?

    Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  • Your mode of telling everything in this piece of writing is really good, all can effortlessly be aware of it, Thanks
    a lot.

  • whoah this blog is excellent i like studying your posts.
    Keep up the great work! You realize, lots of persons are searching round for
    this info, you could aid them greatly.

  • Heya! I'm at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward
    to all your posts! Keep up the great work!

  • I would like to thank you for the efforts you've put in penning this site.
    I'm hoping to view the same high-grade content from you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own site now ;)

  • The campaign has reportedly paid back nearly half and, of
    course this will not reflected in the Thursday report, the debt is right down to $11 million Cody Day bad credit loans are able to
    offer you with tax assistance if you demand it probably the most - just avoid these five common mistakes to make sure
    that you just're not condemning yourself to your cycle of debt.

  • I am really gratewful to the holder of this websute who has shared this
    enormous piece of writing at att this place.

  • The monthly interest for loans obtained through such firms might be slightly
    above traditional rates, but that is certainly not always the
    case garth brooks tour uk 2015 determining which type of loan is the most suitable is dependent
    upon a person consumer's needs.

  • certainly like your web-site buut you need to chechk the spelling on several of your posts.
    Several of them are rijfe with spelling problems andd I in finding it very bothersome
    to inform the truth however I'll definitely come back again.

  • I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of house .
    Exploring in Yahoo I aat last stumbled upon this website.
    Reading this info So i am satisfied to convey that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed.
    I such a lot surely ill mqke sure to do not forget this web site and provides it a glance regularly.

  • each time i used to read smaller articles or reviews which also
    clear their motive, and that is also happening with this paragraph whifh I am reading
    at this place.

  • Someone essentially lend a hand to make seriously posts I might state.
    That is the first time I frequented your web page
    and to this point? I amazed with the anslysis you
    madee to create this particular submit incredible.
    Excellent job!

  • Its not my first time to visit this website, i am visiting this site daiolly and
    obtain nice information from here every day.

  • I was recommended this blog byy my cousin. I'm nott sure whether
    this post is written by him as nobody else know
    such detailed about my problem. You're amazing! Thanks!

  • I like what you guys are usually up too. Thiss sort of clever work and reporting!
    Keepp up the wonderful works guys I've incorporated you guys to my blogroll.

  • Many people find ourselves counting our nickels and dimes.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.